A Thing for Rooftops  

Two weeks ago was LMU’s spring break, along with almost no other school in the country {except apparently a Michigan school}. I didn’t go home or to Cabo unfortunately—next year is already in the works though—but instead hung out, wandered around LA and finally caught up on sleep.


One of the days I ventured over to Melrose and stopped first at Alfred Coffee {In The Alley} which is near the corner of Melrose Ave & La Cienega Blvd, right next to Cycle House.

Alfred changes their sleeves every couple of weeks and this month they teamed up with Children’s Hospital Los Angeles. Their #MakeMarchMatter sleeve is to help raise awareness and money: for every picture posted on Instagram, Alfred will be donating $1. So everyone go grab a delicious coffee & post a pic! It’s for a good cause!

After grabbing my coffee I headed over to the Restoration Hardware Flagship store just a little farther down the street. They have an amazing rooftop patio where anyone can come, sit, eat & enjoy. Really is an amazing homework spot…

There seriously are just too many cool mirrors in this place. It’s my interior design heaven!

Then, because I had made the drive over to West Hollywood, I had to stop at fōnuts for a Strawberry Buttermilk {I also bought one for the next day but shhhh}.


Rooftops seemed to be a trending topic with me over break. Andy and I finally had a little date, she got a day off from softball yay! We went to DTLA to get dinner and hang out on The Rooftop of the Standard Hotel. I had seen such pretty pictures with the city surrounding the hotel and had heard rumors of a very good happy hour at the bar {a glass of wine was only $5!}, but I was not aware of the waterbeds. Two Australian boys were even kind enough to give theirs up! Man, those things were fun. A little difficult to navigate, especially because we both wore dresses, but very amusing.

We had a delicious dinner a couple blocks down at Bottega Louie and ended with a little dessert {I got the Mint Chocolate Macaron, pictured below, it was like a mix between a Thin Mint & a York Pattie}

More roof pics, I can’t help it ¯\_(ツ)_/¯


Later in the week, Kat & Maddie finally came back and we had a little excursion to Kat’s house in Irvine. With a very impromptu departure at 1am on Friday morning, Maddie and I slept in while Kat worked {sucker ;)}. However, we were stranded & hungry. Craving an açaí bowl as always, we found Barefoot Bowls only a mile from Kat’s house! Maddie and I embraced the Housewives of OC attitude and made the trek there & back in our workout outfits, Starbucks in hand…but it was totally worth it, soooo good!! {All three of us even went again the next day haha}

Later on we went to Newport & wandered around one of the piers.

Kat let me play tourist and took us to Balboa Island where I could get an ice cream bar. It was very good and super cute!

The three of us met up with Nikki and Molly that night and went out in Newport. Let me tell ya…Malarky’s never disappoints lol

Leave a Reply

